Categories
Life in Spain

Where to Spend a Weekend in the Spanish Pyrenees

I moved to Zaragoza, Aragon, Spain this year and want to share my favorite weekend escape: the Spanish Pyrenees

You’ll want a car (rent from the Zaragoza airport or train station) to fully enjoy the area but it is possible to get to Jaca by train or bus.

I’ll start with my favorite: Broto

img_9469

img_5623 2

This village is an easy escape from the city (just about an hour North of Huesca) and sits near Ordesa y Monte de Perdido National Park. (I actually haven’t even ventured into the park yet – the hiking trails are abundant around the village and neighboring Torla so I have yet to expand into the NP territory)

img_5714 3
Torla with Ordesa y Monte Perdido NP behind

Why Broto? Torla is its slightly more popular neighbor, the gateway to the national park aka the first stop for tourists. So in my typical fashion I look for the next closest spot and there Broto is found.

img_5694 4
I fell in love with Casa Rural El Portón de Murillo. This rural guesthouse is set on top of the town and staying in the penthouse suite was absolutely breathtaking. I’d stay in any of the rooms here though, truly an at-home experience I highly recommend.

img_0118 3Another good option (if you aren’t staying for more than one night/the above option minimum) is Hotel Latre.

There’s a great pizza place called Pizzería la Tea and a Spanish spot, Restaurante Arazasara R.

Be sure to check out the Cascada de Sorrosal (waterfall)

img_0170 3

There are many hiking trails accessible from town so you can leave your car at the parking lot for the falls then head in any direction until you find a path (or consult a map  or/and a local). Note that you will likely run into many cows!

For a new view drive 10 mins North and park at the tourist center in Torla. I didn’t care for the town much (too touristy for me) but there are dozens of hiking options both from town (just cross the bridge) or just along the road en route to O y MP NP! I recommend you pack a picnic and climb to the tip top of one of those mountains for stellar views.

img_0228 4

Broto feels like a dream escape for me and I hope you enjoy it to the fullest.

For an alternate expedition you can explore the city of Jaca and find many more great hikes around Villanúa and Canfranc-Estación.

657b663f-e084-443a-b241-015e2b3de6da

Running a blog takes a lot of time, money and effort. Become a Grace in the World patron by buying me a coffee or sponsoring a post! Click this link to donate to my travel fund. Your support is highly appreciated.

By Grace in the World

I hope that the experiences I record here could be of some use to those looking to travel and I welcome questions/comments/feedback. Thank you for reading my words. Bon voyage!

2 replies on “Where to Spend a Weekend in the Spanish Pyrenees”

Leave a comment